Spiced Vegetable Soup

So I’ve had my tonsils out and I’m now in this awkward position where the foods I need to eat to get healthy and heal after surgery – leafy things full of vitamins and minerals – also happen to be hard to eat because they’re crunchy or acidic! 😂 so I’ve been eating heaps of ice cream for my throat and nutritionally it’s just not cutting it! I put my foot down the other day and made a big batch of this soup with everything I could find in my fridge to get myself eating nutrients more gently. It’s not the prettiest, but it’s so so good for you and very delicious too! While the beauty of a soup is that it’s super versatile and you can pretty much blend anything into deliciousness, I’ve put exactly what I put in it so you can recreate this if you like.

Stats:

Approximate cost to buy everything: $15

Serves: 4-6

Time taken: 30 minutes

The protein, iron and calcium I’m not getting from meat? A good serve of plant-based iron and calcium from all of those veggies.

 


Ingredients:

2 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, roughly chopped
1-inch piece ginger, peeled and minced
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground turmeric
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cardamom
2 tbsp coriander, roughly chopped
2 potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 medium sweet potato, peeled and chopped
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
1/2 cup broccoli, chopped
1 large tomato, chopped
1 stick celery, chopped
6 brussels sprouts, tough bits trimmed off
8 cup mushrooms, chopped
1/2 cup chopped cooked spinach (frozen is fine)
2 litres vegetable stock
3/4 cup coconut cream
Salt and pepper, to taste

Method

In a large saucepan, heat some olive oil. Fry onion over medium-high heat until golden, then add garlic and spices and fry until fragrant. Add vegetables and stir to coat, then pour in stock, bring to the boil, and simmer for 15 minutes or until everything is cooked. Remove soup from heat, blend everything up using a stick blender, and stir through coconut milk. Season to taste, then enjoy hot with some crusty bread and extra coconut cream!

 

 

View post on Instagram

1 Comment

Leave a comment